Student Government

Student Government is a student organization that serves as the official voice of the student body.


Founded and funded by students, the NC State University Student Government encourages students to express their concerns and ideas, promotes an environment of open discourse and academic excellence, and proactively represents the student voice to the University administration and Board of Trustees through ethical and accountable public service.


Student Government operates with a three-branch divided powers system. Legislative authority rests with the Student Senate, a 64-member body that adopts formal stances on issues of concern, allocates the student government budget, investigates complex matters, and oversees operation of the other branches. Executive authority is granted to the Student Body President and his or her branch of departments, agencies, boards, and commissions. The Executive Branch does everything from advocating policies adopted by the Senate to programming and conducting studies. The third branch is the Judicial Branch, which adjudicates alleged violations of the Code of Student Conduct, including academic integrity violations.


Connect with SG:



Twitter: @NCStateSG